Team Alfredsson: Where the Ottawa Senators and Team Sweden collide

Daniel Alfredsson took a while to unite his teammates, but he eventually did what he could during 2012 NHL All-Star Fantasy Draft by selecting Erik Karlsson (1), Jason Spezza (2), and Milan Michalek (12). He also brought a number of his countrymen on board, with Daniel Sedin, Henrik Sedin, and Alex Edler joining Alfredsson, Karlsson, and Henrik Lundqvist on the team. The lone exception for the Senators: Colin Greening and his rookie teammates were placed on Team Chara.

Alfredsson also picked most of the locally renowned talent, with local boy Claude Giroux, former Ottawa 67 Logan Couture and former Senator Brian Elliott on board. The only local connection on Team Chara (other than Zdeno Chara himself) is former Ottawa 67 Brian Campbell.

Fittingly, all three Maple Leafs are on the opposing squad, with Zdeno Chara and co-captain Joffrey Lupul bringing Phil Kessel and Dion Phaneuf into the fold on their team. The Boston Bruins were also on that squad, with Tim Thomas and Tyler Seguin joining Chara.

After the jump are the full All-Star Rosters, before rookie assignments:

Team Daniel Alfredsson / Henrik Lundqvist picks:

  1. Erik Karlsson
  2. Jason Spezza
  3. Jonathan Quick
  4. Claude Giroux
  5. Kris Letang
  6. Steven Stamkos
  7. Brian Elliott
  8. Shea Weber
  9. Daniel Sedin
  10. Dan Girardi
  11. Keith Yandle
  12. Milan Michalek
  13. Henrik Sedin
  14. James Neal
  15. Alex Edler
  16. John Tavares
  17. Scott Hartnell
  18. Jason Pominville
  19. Logan Couture

Team Zdeno Chara / Joffrey Lupul picks:

  1. Pavel Datsyuk
  2. Tim Thomas
  3. Evgeni Malkin
  4. Marian Hossa
  5. Kimmo Timonen
  6. Corey Perry
  7. Carey Price
  8. Phil Kessel
  9. Ryan Suter
  10. Jimmy Howard
  11. Brian Campbell
  12. Patrick Kane
  13. Dion Phaneuf
  14. Jarome Iginla
  15. Dennis Wideman
  16. Marian Gaborik
  17. Jordan Eberle
  18. Tyler Seguin
  19. Jamie Benn

Subscribe to Silver Seven

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.