Ottawa Senators Reveal Training Camp Roster, Captains

It’s almost that time.

Getting set to play their first NHL game in a little over ten months come January 15th, the Ottawa Senators are three days into their on-ice training camp, and have thus revealed their full camp roster.

With 42 players attending camp this year, D.J. Smith and Co. will have plenty of difficult decisions to make regarding who stays, and who goes. The group boasts 10 former first-round draft picks, as 21 players that appeared with the Sens last season.

The roster break down is as follows:

Six (6) goaltenders, 2019-20 team(s): François Brassard (Maine - ECHL), Joey Daccord (Brampton - ECHL, Belleville - AHL), Filip Gustavsson (Belleville - AHL), Marcus Hogberg (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Kevin Mandolese (Cape Breton - QMJHL), Matt Murray (Pittsburgh - NHL).

Thirteen (13) defencemen, 2019-20 team(s): Olle Alsing (Djurgårdens - SHL), Jonathan Aspirot (Belleville - AHL), Erik Brännström (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Josh Brown (Florida - NHL), Thomas Chabot (Ottawa - NHL), Erik Gudbranson (Pittsburgh - NHL, Anaheim - NHL), Christian Jaros (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Max Lajoie (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Mike Reilly (Montreal - NHL, Ottawa - NHL), Lassi Thomson (Ilves – SM-Liiga), Christian Wolanin (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Nikita Zaitsev (Ottawa - NHL), Artem Zub (SKA St Petersburg - KHL).

Twenty-three (23) forwards, 2019-20 team(s): Vitaly Abramov (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Artem Anisimov (Ottawa - NHL), Rudolfs Balcers (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Drake Batherson (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Jean-Christophe Beaudin (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Connor Brown (Ottawa - NHL), Logan Brown (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Filip Chlapik (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Evgenii Dadonov (Florida - NHL), Jonathan Davidsson (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Alex Formenton (Belleville - AHL), Alex Galchenyuk (Pittsburgh - NHL, Minnesota - NHL), Micheal Haley (N.Y. Rangers - NHL), Parker Kelly (Belleville - AHL), Josh Norris (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Nick Paul (Belleville - AHL, Ottawa - NHL), Matthew Peca (Laval - AHL, Montreal - NHL, Ottawa - NHL), Logan Shaw (Manitoba - AHL, Winnipeg - NHL), Egor Sokolov (Cape Breton - QMJHL), Chris Tierney (Ottawa - NHL), Brady Tkachuk (Ottawa - NHL), Austin Watson (Nashville - NHL), Colin White (Ottawa - NHL).

As TSN’s Steve Lloyd astutely pointed out, there are some notable absences from this year’s camp. Forward Mark Kastelic, defenceman Maxence Guenette, and goaltender Mads Sogaard are not attending for various reasons. 2020 28th overall selection Ridly Greig is expected to join the team relatively soon, and Tim Stuetzle will arrive upon the conclusion of Germany’s World Junior Hockey Championship bid.

The Senators also made an important announcement regarding their captaincy. While the team will proceed without a designated captain for the third straight season; Brady Tkachuk, Thomas Chabot, and Erik Gudbranson will serve as alternates for the 2021 campaign.

When all is said and done, and the final roster is set, Ottawa will drop the puck on their first game in 310 days, kicking off a back-to-back home series against the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Subscribe to Silver Seven

Don’t miss out on the latest articles. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only articles.