Ottawa Senators alumni game roster announced

Yes, Alexei Yashin will be making an appearance

A little over a week ago, the Senators alumni game captains were announced the nobody’s surprise: Chris Phillips and Daniel Alfredsson. Today, we found out the rest of the roster.

The biggest deal is likely Alexei Yashin. The manner in which he left Ottawa was not the best, but it’s important to remember he’s 10th in franchise history in games played, 3rd in goals, 5th in assists, and 3rd in points. It’s nice to see that any bitterness seems to have been buried and he can play in a game for fun. Speaking of bitterness, it’s nice to see that Alexandre Daigle will play despite being considered possibly the biggest draft bust in NHL history. He must have a good sense of humour to sign up for something like this.

I’m also very excited to watch my childhood hero Ron Tugnutt participate. He’ll be joined in net by his old partner Damien Rhodes, former best goalie in franchise history Patrick Lalime, and he retired-far-too-young Pascal Leclaire.

Other notable names include Mike Fisher, Wade Redden, Norm Maciver, Magnus Arvedson, Radek Bonk, Laurie Boschman, Randy Cunneyworth, and Filip Kuba. Probably the biggest name missing in my opinion is Shawn McEachern. Some also wondered if Dominik Hasek was going to make an appearance, though the four goalies listed represent a lot more Sens history than Hasek. The game will take place on Friday, December 15th starting at 7 p.m. on Parliament Hill.

Here’s the full roster alphabetically, with the active Sens years in brackets:

Daniel Alfredsson (1995-2013)
Magnus Arvedson (1997-2003)
Radek Bonk (1994-2004)
Laurie Boschman (1992-93)
Randy Cunneyworth (1994-98)
Alexandre Daigle (1993-98)
Shean Donovan (2007-10)
Mike Fisher (1999-2011)
Denis Hamel (2003-07)
Martin Havlat (2000-06)
Denny Lambert (1996-98)
Rob Murphy (1992-93)
Randy Robitaille (2007-08)
Bryan Smolinski (2002-06)
Brad Smyth (2002-03)
Shaun Van Allen (1996-2000 / 2002-04)
Todd White (2000-04)
Alexei Yashin (1993-2001)
Rob Zamuner (1999-2001)

Brendan Bell (2008-09)
Filip Kuba (2008-2012)
Jim Kyte (1992-93)
Janne Laukkanen (1995-2000)
Curtis Leschyshyn (2000-04)
Norm Maciver (1992-95)
Chris Phillips (1997-2015)
Lance Pitlick (1994-99)
Wade Redden (1996-2008)
Dennis Vial (1993-98)
Jason York (1996-2001)

Patrick Lalime (1999-2004)
Pascal Leclaire (2009-11)
Damian Rhodes (1995-99)
Ron Tugnutt (1996-2000)

Not everyone can afford to pay for sports coverage right now, and that is why we will keep as much of the site's content free for as long as we can.

But if you are able to, please consider subscribing to help keep our articles free (and get a few extra perks).

Erik Condra
  • Ability to comment and participate in our community
  • Twice monthly newsletter available only to subscribers
  • Ad-free reading
  • Our undying love and appreciation
Brady Tkachuk
  • Everything from the Erik Condra tier
  • 10% discount on all merch
  • Access to any future paywalled content
  • A personal thank-you from the Silver Seven staff
Daniel Alfredsson
  • Everything from the Brady Tkachuk tier
  • Inner peace knowing you are supporting quality, independent coverage of your favourite sports team