Senators' 2013 Training Camp Roster Revealed

And only four months later than last season!

Barring any immediate signings or trades, it looks like the Ottawa Senators will be bringing a 26-man roster to this season's abbreviated training camp. It's a much, much smaller roster than last season's 59 players, but that's what happens when training camp begins in January and you try not to deprive junior and minor league teams from having semi-competitive rosters:

Forwards (15):

#7 Kyle Turris
#9 Milan Michalek
#11 Daniel Alfredsson
#12 Stefan Noesen
#13 Peter Regin
#14 Colin Greening
#15 Zack Smith
#18 Jim O`Brien
#19 Jason Spezza
#22 Erik Condra
#23 Kaspars Daugavins
#25 Chris Neil
#33 Jakob Silfverberg
#68 Mike Hoffman
#73 Guillaume Latendresse

Defencemen (8):

#3 Marc Methot
#4 Chris Phillips
#5 Cody Ceci
#46 Patrick Wiercioch
#61 Andre Benoit
#55 Sergei Gonchar
#65 Erik Karlsson
#74 Mark Borowiecki

Goalies (3):

#30 Ben Bishop
#40 Robin Lehner
#41 Craig Anderson


  • Both Jared Cowen and Mike Lundin are injured and therefore are unable to attend camp. (UPDATE: Mike Lundin is at camp despite his broken finger keeping him out of the lineup.)
  • No Mika Zibanejad. Back in the summer it seemed almost a guarantee that Zibanejad would start the season in Ottawa. But after some struggles in Binghamton and a bevy of injuries, Zibanejad - now healthy - has been left on the farm.
  • Other notable players left in Binghamton: Mark Stone, Stephane Da Costa, Shane Prince, and Jean-Gabriel Pageau.
  • Only two junior players were invited to camp: Stefan Noesen (Plymouth, OHL) and Cody Ceci (Owen Sound, OHL). If he makes the Senators, Ceci will have played an entirety of two games for the Owen Sound Attack since being traded by the Ottawa 67's earlier this week.
  • New jersey numbers for new and old alike! Newcomer Marc Methot will wear #3, Guillaume Latendresse will don #73, and Mike Lundin's empty locker will proudly display #10. With the departure of Jesse Winchester, Jim O'Brien switches from his old training camp handout #42 to a shiny new #18. According to the Senators' official website, Cody Ceci (previously #38) is now #5, and Stefan Noesen (previously #36) is now #12. (UPDATE: Andre Benoit has changed from #47 to #61.)
  • If any of them make the team, Bishop, Lehner, Noesen, Silfverberg, Hoffman, Ceci, Wiercioch, and Borowiecki would all qualify as rookies and thus be eligible for the Calder Trophy. Andre Benoit would not be, because even though he has played fewer than 25 NHL games (8), he's too old to count. Think of Benoit as this year's Matt Carkner, only smaller and higher-scoring.

Not everyone can afford to pay for sports coverage right now, and that is why we will keep as much of the site's content free for as long as we can.

But if you are able to, please consider subscribing to help keep our articles free (and get a few extra perks).

Erik Condra
  • Ability to comment and participate in our community
  • Twice monthly newsletter available only to subscribers
  • Ad-free reading
  • Our undying love and appreciation
Brady Tkachuk
  • Everything from the Erik Condra tier
  • 10% discount on all merch
  • Access to any future paywalled content
  • A personal thank-you from the Silver Seven staff
Daniel Alfredsson
  • Everything from the Brady Tkachuk tier
  • Inner peace knowing you are supporting quality, independent coverage of your favourite sports team