6th Annual Clarkson Cup: March 18-22, 2014

The Clarkson Cup, recognizing the top female hockey team in the country, will be awarded this week in Markham, Ontario.

In the fine tradition of Governors General donating trophies/having trophies named in their honour (Georges Vanier, Earl Grey, Earl of Minto, and Lord Stanley to name a few), the Clarkson Cup bears the name of former Governor General Adrienne Clarkson who commissioned the award in 2005 to honour the top women's club team in the country.

The annual tournament takes place in a neutral city and this year the Markham Centennial Centre (8600 McCowan Road) will once again host the event (Markham was host to the 2013 tournament). Past winners include: the Montreal Stars (2009, 2011, and 2012), the Minnesota Whitecaps (2010), and the Boston Blades (2013).

The schedule for the round robin tournament is as follows:

Wednesday, March 19:

11:00 am: Calgary Inferno vs. Toronto Furies

7:30 pm: Montreal Stars vs. Boston Blades

Thursday, March 20:

11:00 am: Boston Blades vs. Toronto Furies

7:30 pm: Montreal Stars vs. Calgary Inferno

Friday, March 21:

11:00 am: Montreal Stars vs. Toronto Furies

7:30 pm: Boston Blades vs. Calgary Inferno

Saturday, March 22:

2:00 pm: Championship Final

Tickets are just $10 for the round robin (Wed-Fri) $15 for Saturday's championship, or $70 for the tournament pass. Tickets are available online at the Canadian Women's Hockey League website or at the gate.

Can't attend in person? The round robin matches will be streamed online and the final will air live on TSN.

Not everyone can afford to pay for sports coverage right now, and that is why we will keep as much of the site's content free for as long as we can.

But if you are able to, please consider subscribing to help keep our articles free (and get a few extra perks).

Erik Condra
  • Ability to comment and participate in our community
  • Twice monthly newsletter available only to subscribers
  • Ad-free reading
  • Our undying love and appreciation
Brady Tkachuk
  • Everything from the Erik Condra tier
  • 10% discount on all merch
  • Access to any future paywalled content
  • A personal thank-you from the Silver Seven staff
Daniel Alfredsson
  • Everything from the Brady Tkachuk tier
  • Inner peace knowing you are supporting quality, independent coverage of your favourite sports team