clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2016: Finalists, odds, times, presenters, and how to watch

New, comments

All you need to know about tonight's awards show

Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The NHL Awards show runs tonight in Las Vegas. The only Ottawa Senators player nominated is Erik Karlsson, up for his third Norris Trophy as the NHL's best defenceman, but the rest of the show could be worth watching for host Will Arnett, some of the awkward moments of trying to be funny with NHL players, or the occasional inspiring moment. You can find everything you need to know below:

How to watch the 2016 NHL Awards

7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT | Wednesday, June 22
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas
American TV: NBCSN | Canadian TV: Sportsnet
Live streaming on NBC Live Extra

2016 NHL Awards Finalists

  • Hart Trophy (league MVP): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Sidney Crosby.
  • Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Erik Karlsson, Drew Doughty, Brent Burns.
  • Vezina Trophy (best goaltender): Braden Holtby, Ben Bishop, Jonathan Quick.
  • Calder Trophy (top rookie): Artemi Panarin, Connor McDavid, Shayne Gostisbehere.
  • Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Anze Kopitar, Patrice Bergeron, Ryan Kesler.
  • Lady Byng Trophy (most gentlemanly forward): Anze Kopitar, Aleksander Barkov, Loui Eriksson.
  • Masterton Trophy (dedication / perseverance): Jaromir Jagr, Mats Zuccarello, Pascal Dupuis.
  • NHL Foundation Award (community service): Matt Martin, P.K. Subban, Mark Giordano.
  • Mark Messier Leadership Award: Alex Ovechkin, Shea Weber, John Tavares.
  • Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as voted by the players): Patrick Kane, Jamie Benn, Braden Holtby.
  • Jack Adams Award (best coach): Lindy Ruff, Barry Trotz, Gerard Gallant.
  • General Manager of the Year: Jim Rutherford, Brian MacLellan, Jim Nill.

Presenters and Presentation Order

Calder Trophy (top rookie)
Presenter: Jacob Tremblay

Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)
Presenters: X Ambassadors

General Manager of the Year
Presenters: Penn & Teller

Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Presenters: Kathryn Tappen & Anson Carter with Gerry and Wyatt Nelson

Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award
Presenters: Tara Slone & Mark Messier

King Clancy Memorial Trophy (for leadership on and off the ice and noteworthy humanitarian contribution to community)
Presenters: Tara Slone & Mark Messier

NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)
Presenters: Tara Slone & Mark Messier

EA NHL® 17 Cover Athlete
Presenter: Elliotte Friedman

Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
Presenter: Jason Priestley

Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)
Presenters: Jason Priestley & Kevin Lowe

Jack Adams Award (top head coach)
Presenter: Anders Holm

Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)
Presenter: Olivia Culpo

Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Presenters: Kevin Weekes & Dominik Hasek

Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)
Presenter: Michael Keaton

2016 NHL Awards Odds (via Bovada)

  • Hart: Patrick Kane (1/10), Jamie Benn (7/1), Sidney Crosby (7/1)
  • Norris: Erik Karlsson (5/8), Drew Doughty (2/1), Brent Burns (4/1)
  • Vezina: Braden Holtby (1/30), Ben Bishop (7/1), Jonathan Quick (15/1)
  • Calder: Artemi Panarin (4/15), Connor McDavid (3/1), Shayne Gostisbehere (8/1)
  • Selke: Anze Kopitar (10/11), Patrice Bergeron (1/1), Ryan Kesler (6/1)
  • Lady Byng: Anze Kopitar (1/2), Aleksander Barkov (3/1), Loui Eriksson (10/3)
  • Jack Adams: Gerard Gallant (5/6), Barry Trotz (1/1), Lindy Ruff (8/1)