clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Ottawa Senators 2016-17 Schedule Released

New, comments

The day after the home openers were released, the full 2016-17 schedule came out

Dafne Cholet/Flickr (CC BY 2.0)

Yesterday the Ottawa Senators released their home opener, which runs October 12th against the Toronto Maple Leafs. Today they released the full 2016-17 schedule, which you can find linked here.

Some thoughts on the schedule:

  • There are 12 back-to-backs on the schedule. Since it is bound to be asked - two of them involve Toronto, both times as the front half. One involves Montreal, and it's a home-and-home.
  • The Sens will play the Canadiens (twice at home) and Sabres (thrice at home) five times, and all the other division rivals four times
  • The extra home games against the Metro this season are against Carolina, Columbus, Pittsburgh and Washington
  • The Western Canada road trip takes place early in the season, playing the Canucks, Flames, and Oilers from October 25-30
  • The dreaded California road trip takes place December 7-11. It includes back-to-back afternoon games on Saturday and Sunday against the Kings and Ducks
  • They face the Stanley Cup champion Penguins for the first time on December 5th
  • Each team is guaranteed one large break over the season, and the Sens' longest is from January 1st to January 7th, which means five days with no hockey. They also have four days with no hockey over Christmas and the All-Star break
  • Ottawa will close out the season with a New York double feature. They host the Rangers for an afternoon game on April 8th, and travel to Brooklyn to face the Islanders on the 9th.

Full Schedule:

Date Visitor Home Time (ET)
Wed, 12 Oct 2016 Maple Leafs Senators 7:00 PM
Sat, 15 Oct 2016 Canadiens Senators 7:00 PM
Mon, 17 Oct 2016 Senators Red Wings 7:30 PM
Tue, 18 Oct 2016 Coyotes Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 22 Oct 2016 Lightning Senators 7:00 PM
Tue, 25 Oct 2016 Senators Canucks 10:00 PM
Fri, 28 Oct 2016 Senators Flames 9:00 PM
Sun, 30 Oct 2016 Senators Oilers 9:00 PM
Tue, 1 Nov 2016 Hurricanes Senators 7:30 PM
Thu, 3 Nov 2016 Canucks Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 5 Nov 2016 Sabres Senators 7:00 PM
Tue, 8 Nov 2016 Senators Predators 8:00 PM
Wed, 9 Nov 2016 Senators Sabres 7:30 PM
Fri, 11 Nov 2016 Kings Senators 7:30 PM
Sun, 13 Nov 2016 Wild Senators 5:00 PM
Tue, 15 Nov 2016 Senators Flyers 7:00 PM
Thu, 17 Nov 2016 Predators Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 19 Nov 2016 Panthers Senators 7:00 PM
Tue, 22 Nov 2016 Senators Canadiens 7:30 PM
Thu, 24 Nov 2016 Bruins Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 26 Nov 2016 Hurricanes Senators 7:00 PM
Sun, 27 Nov 2016 Senators Rangers 7:00 PM
Tue, 29 Nov 2016 Sabres Senators 7:30 PM
Thu, 1 Dec 2016 Flyers Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 3 Dec 2016 Panthers Senators 7:00 PM
Mon, 5 Dec 2016 Senators Penguins 7:00 PM
Wed, 7 Dec 2016 Senators Sharks 10:30 PM
Sat, 10 Dec 2016 Senators Kings 4:00 PM
Sun, 11 Dec 2016 Senators Ducks 4:00 PM
Wed, 14 Dec 2016 Sharks Senators 7:00 PM
Sat, 17 Dec 2016 Devils Senators 7:00 PM
Sun, 18 Dec 2016 Senators Islanders 7:00 PM
Tue, 20 Dec 2016 Senators Blackhawks 8:30 PM
Thu, 22 Dec 2016 Ducks Senators 7:30 PM
Tue, 27 Dec 2016 Senators Rangers 7:00 PM
Thu, 29 Dec 2016 Red Wings Senators 7:30 PM
Sun, 1 Jan 2017 Senators Capitals 7:30 PM
Sat, 7 Jan 2017 Capitals Senators 7:00 PM
Sun, 8 Jan 2017 Oilers Senators 7:00 PM
Thu, 12 Jan 2017 Penguins Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 14 Jan 2017 Maple Leafs Senators 7:00 PM
Tue, 17 Jan 2017 Senators Blues 8:00 PM
Thu, 19 Jan 2017 Senators Blue Jackets 7:00 PM
Sat, 21 Jan 2017 Senators Maple Leafs 7:00 PM
Sun, 22 Jan 2017 Blue Jackets Senators 5:00 PM
Tue, 24 Jan 2017 Capitals Senators 7:30 PM
Thu, 26 Jan 2017 Flames Senators 7:30 PM
Tue, 31 Jan 2017 Senators Panthers 7:30 PM
Thu, 2 Feb 2017 Senators Lightning 7:30 PM
Sat, 4 Feb 2017 Senators Sabres 7:00 PM
Tue, 7 Feb 2017 Blues Senators 7:30 PM
Thu, 9 Feb 2017 Stars Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 11 Feb 2017 Islanders Senators 1:00 PM
Tue, 14 Feb 2017 Sabres Senators 7:30 PM
Thu, 16 Feb 2017 Senators Devils 7:00 PM
Sat, 18 Feb 2017 Senators Maple Leafs 7:00 PM
Sun, 19 Feb 2017 Jets Senators 5:00 PM
Tue, 21 Feb 2017 Senators Devils 7:00 PM
Fri, 24 Feb 2017 Senators Hurricanes 7:30 PM
Sun, 26 Feb 2017 Senators Panthers 7:30 PM
Mon, 27 Feb 2017 Senators Lightning 7:30 PM
Thu, 2 Mar 2017 Avalanche Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 4 Mar 2017 Blue Jackets Senators 7:00 PM
Mon, 6 Mar 2017 Bruins Senators 7:30 PM
Wed, 8 Mar 2017 Senators Stars 8:00 PM
Thu, 9 Mar 2017 Senators Coyotes 9:00 PM
Sat, 11 Mar 2017 Senators Avalanche 7:00 PM
Tue, 14 Mar 2017 Lightning Senators 7:30 PM
Thu, 16 Mar 2017 Blackhawks Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 18 Mar 2017 Canadiens Senators 7:00 PM
Sun, 19 Mar 2017 Senators Canadiens 7:30 PM
Tue, 21 Mar 2017 Senators Bruins 7:00 PM
Thu, 23 Mar 2017 Penguins Senators 7:30 PM
Sat, 25 Mar 2017 Senators Canadiens 7:00 PM
Tue, 28 Mar 2017 Senators Flyers 7:00 PM
Thu, 30 Mar 2017 Senators Wild 8:00 PM
Sat, 1 Apr 2017 Senators Jets 7:00 PM
Mon, 3 Apr 2017 Senators Red Wings 7:00 PM
Tue, 4 Apr 2017 Red Wings Senators 7:30 PM
Thu, 6 Apr 2017 Senators Bruins 7:00 PM
Sat, 8 Apr 2017 Rangers Senators 12:30 PM
Sun, 9 Apr 2017 Senators Islanders 5:00 PM