clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Senators Announce “Ring of Honour”

Bryan Murray will be the first name on the ring

Minnesota Wild v Ottawa Senators Photo by Jana Chytilova/Freestyle Photography/Getty Images

This morning, the Senators and their Player Honouring Committee announced the “Ring of Honour”, and that the first person to take their place on the ring is Bryan Murray.

Murray is in his 12th year with the Senators in one role or another. As head coach he had 107 wins in 182 regular season games, and took the Sens to the Stanley Cup Final. He ranks third among Sens head coaches for all-time wins despite being fifth in total games coached, and holds the best record on the list. He’s also the only Senators coach to have a winning playoff record.

As GM his track record has been a bit more mixed. The team has only won a single playoff round with him in that role, but we’ve also seen some shrewd moves that have given us the likes of Erik Karlsson, Mark Stone, and Kyle Turris.

The ring itself will pillars on the 300 level of the Canadian Tire Centre, with Murray’s pillar being placed at section 306. There will be a ceremony before the game on January 24th.