clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Preseason Game 4: Montreal Canadiens at Ottawa Senators

Exhibition Game 4: Ottawa Senators v. Montréal Canadiens
Scotiabank Place, 7:00 p.m. EST
Radio: Team 1200 TV: Rogers 22
Enemy: Eyes on the Prize

There are a number of stories going into tonight's game. Yes, the Senators lost to the Canadiens last night, and are seeking sweet vengeance. Yes, the Senators are still looking for their first win, and yes, for their first goal at even strength. These are certainly concerns that I'm sure Cory Clouston (who turns 40 today, if you're interested. No? Oh, okay) has, but there are several other storylines to watch tonight.

First, Pascal Leclaire will play his first full game as an Ottawa Senator, and he'll be doing it in front of an Ottawa crowd. Second, as mentioned yesterday, our number one centre tonight is Ryan Shannon, who will be playing between Jonathan Cheechoo and Alex Kovalev. Third, the aforementioned Kovalev plays against his old teammates for the first time since leaving Montreal - or, at least, what's left of his old teammates.

Other things worth noting? The second line features Peter Regin centring a line with Mike Fisher and Nick Foligno as his wingers. Yes, you read that right: Fisher is on the wing while Regin plays centre. Speaking of Regin, he's one of three bubble players who played last night who are lacing up their skates again tonight, Matt Carkner and Zack Smith being the other two. These boys, along with the other players trying to make the cut will likely be skating with serious desperation tonight - the Citizen claims this is a final tryout for some of those bubble players.

Not a stellar line-up by any stretch, but it'll be interesting to see how some of these new line combos hold up.

Here's tonight's lineup:

Jonathan Cheechoo
Ryan Shannon
Alex Kovalev
Nick Foligno Peter Regin Mike Fisher
Zack Smith Martin St. Pierre Mike Hoffman
Jarkko Ruutu Josh Hennessy Shean Donovan
Chris Phillips
Anton Volchenkov
Filip Kuba Erik Karlsson
Derek Smith Matt Carkner
Pascal Leclaire
Mike Brodeur