clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Senators announce 54-man training camp roster

The Ottawa Senators announced the roster of 54 invited players (EDIT: But there are only 53 players listed... weird... )for their NHL training camp today. Those players invited include 23 Senators draft picks, 13 players acquired as free agents, eight via trade, seven on try-out contracts and three on AHL-only deals. There are six goalies, 16 defencemen, and 32 forwards. Eighteen members of the rookie squad were also invited--including standout goaltender Robin Lehner and 2008 first-round draft choice Erik Karlsson--and 2009 first-round draft choice Jared Cowen is also expected to attend.

And, of course, Dany Heatley has an invitation, and barring any trade is also expected to be there.

Read more to see the whole roster...

Stealing an idea from Pension Plan Puppets, I'll cross out names as players are cut.

Forwards Defencemen Goaltenders
Daniel Alfredsson Casey Lee Paul Baier Brian Lee Mike Brodeur
Jason Bailey Matt Lowry Drew Bannister Chris Phillips Andy Chiodo
Cody Bass Milan Michalek Chris Campoli Alexandre Picard Brian Elliott
Matt Carkner Chris Neil Jared Cowen Mat Robinson Chris Holt
Jonathan Cheechoo James O'Brien Erik Karlsson Craig Schira Pascal Leclaire
Erik Condra Brett Parnham Geoff Kinrade Derek Smith Robin Lehner
Keegan Dansereau Peter Regin Filip Kuba Anton Volchenkov
Kaspars Daugavins Jarkko Ruutu Tomas Kudelka Kyle Wharton
Shean Donovan Christoph Schubert
Mike Fisher Ryan Shannon
Nick Foligno Zack Smith
Denis Hamel Jason Spezza
Joshua Hennessy Martin St. Pierre
Mike Hoffman Brandon Svendsen
Ryan Keller Jesse Winchester
Chris Kelly Jeremy Yablonski
Alex Kovalev Ilya Zubov